Writers Block Challenge # 27

 

I wish I had a camera that could show the view from me:

Peripheral and everything I do and do not see.

And it would have to focus without zooming, and should stay

Attentive to the details and wide angles of each day.

 

Photographic memories!  I’ve heard some people have them.

Not me, though, only words are stored, retrievable at random.

I cannot tell you what I saw unless I first told me!

Word pictures I’ll remember.  That’s why I write poetry.

Poem by Rani Kaye, All rights reserved.

Tagged: ,

11 thoughts on “Writers Block Challenge # 27

  1. dp ♥ December 17, 2007 at 12:03 am Reply

    Love this! Word pictures…how creative!

  2. Bill Pate December 17, 2007 at 1:23 am Reply

    I agree … good analogy … very good!

  3. Quiet Warrior December 17, 2007 at 9:37 am Reply

    I like this!

  4. Devonne ~ December 18, 2007 at 10:37 am Reply

    Very nice, I love word pictures.

  5. XXXX YYYY December 18, 2007 at 10:58 am Reply

    This is really very good, great job :-)

  6. Mickey ® December 18, 2007 at 9:54 pm Reply

    heheheee… very lyrical.. I guess that's why they call it poetry.I thought this was a light hearted brush at the theme. A nice melody of words.

  7. XXXX YYYY December 18, 2007 at 11:23 pm Reply

    Wow very good.

  8. sparksmcgee November 16, 2012 at 11:06 pm Reply

    This is wonderful!

    • Rani Kaye November 16, 2012 at 11:12 pm Reply

      Thank you!

      • sparksmcgee November 16, 2012 at 11:26 pm

        I forget what this form is called that you used (the aabb heptameter thingy), but it’s my favourite. It’s like a lovely Emily Dickinson/Christina Rossetti hybrid.

      • Rani Kaye November 16, 2012 at 11:40 pm

        I’ve been making poems in my head since before I can even remember http://ranikaye.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/writers-forum-find-your-muse-8-secret-rendezvous/

        But it makes sense that I would copy one of Emily’s rhythms, since she was the first “poet” I got to know on a personal level. Hers was the first biography I ever read in my life.

        I must admit, I only took Creative Writing one year in high school, and I haven’t a clue what the poetic forms are. I just like a well-turned phrase, so I put words together till they please me. That’s all.

        I love the way you know how to write reviews! Oh my, my, my! I totally enjoy the word pictures you paint for me. :-)

        Blessings, Rani

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

